docs / Folder Security
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

View
 

Folder Security

OverviewWorkspacesFilesMoving FilesFolder Security

 

 
Home
Dashboard
Workspaces
Summary
Pages
Files
Creating Pages
Uploading Files
Downloading Files
Moving Files
Create a Folder
Rename a Folder
Delete a Folder
Folder Security
Public Folders
Gallery View
Page and File Security
Starred Files
Sharing Files
Commenting on Files
File History
File Preview
Copy File
Tasks 
Members
Settings
Workspace Listing
Searching
Users
Reports
Admin
Security

 


Important Note:  Only people with Moderator permission on a workspace can change the security of any page or folder inside that workspace.

 

  1. To access the folder security of any folder, first, click the Pages & Files tab of the workspace:

  2. Next, place your mouse over the folder you wish to change the security for, and the folder's information card will appear.  Click the link in that card to modify the folder security.

  3. By default, the folder is set to default security, meaning anyone in the members list can access the folder.  You can click the "Who can see this folder?" link to see which users are able to see the folder.  Additionally, the Workspace Security setting could make it so that anyone on the network has access to the folder (if the users can freely join the workspace at will).  If the workspace Moderator has made it so only users invited can see the workspace, then only users in the Members list of the workspace will be able to see the folder with default security.



    By clicking the option to "Custom Security" this makes the folder private to everyone that is not on the Custom Security list.  When you first set Custom Security, only the Moderators will have folder access, because workspace Moderators cannot be blocked from any content in the workspace. 



    The "All other workspace users" entry is set to "No access" by default, but you can change this by setting that entry to a different option.  To make sure all other members of the workspace have the same access, just set the option to "Default security".  Then, whatever a role a user has in the members list will be the permission level they have on the folder.



    To add a non-Moderator user to the list, select a user from the drop-down menu, and click the "Add User" button.



    When a non-Moderator user is in the Folder Security list, you can designate a permission they will have for the folder.  This means that all content inside this folder will be available to them, and they will have the permission level you've set for them.  This permission level can be set differently than their level in the users list, so you can have a situation where a user is a Reader for the entire workspace (meaning they would only be able to view content), but allow them to Edit content on one specific folder.