docs / Modifying Users
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Finally, you can manage your Google Docs, uploads, and email attachments (plus Dropbox and Slack files) in one convenient place. Claim a free account, and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio (from the makers of PBworks) can automatically organize your content for you.

View
 

Modifying Users (redirected from Promoting Users)

OverviewUsersModifying Users

 

 
Home
Dashboard
Workspaces
Users
Finding Members
Adding Users to a Network
Adding Members to a Workspace
Editing Profiles
Notifications
Removing Members from a Workspace
Removing a User from a Network
Password Reset
Resend Invitation
Modifying Users
Network Roles
Using Groups
Group Management
Reports
Admin
Security

 


Modifying Users

 

External users can be invited to a single workspace, but you may want to increase their access to regular network user so they can create new workspaces on their own.  To do this, follow these steps:

 

  1. While logged in as a PBworks Admin at the network home, click the Users tab.  If you don't even see the "Admin" tab in this view, then that means you are not logged in as a PBworks Admin.



  2. In the right "Filter Users" panel,  check the "External" check box to see the external users on the network.  This will help to limit the users shown in the Users tab to just the external users.



  3. Click on the name of any External User. 

     

  4. In the user profile, click the dropdown under the "Permission" field, and set the user account as a Standard User. 



    Security Note: Setting a user as Admin action will make the user a Moderator of every space they are a part of, and they will be able to join all spaces within your network.  PBworks Admins have complete access to all settings and content inside the network, and so make sure this permission is reserved for only a limited number of users in a network.  

    Making a user PBworks Admin to share a single file or page with a user is unwise.  Instead, use the "Share" function to share files and pages with users. 

 

Licensing Note: Per the PBworks Terms of Service, external user accounts are exclusively for users external to your organization, and the features provided to external users are severely limited.