docs / Network Level
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions. Connect your Gmail, DriveDropbox, and Slack accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize all your file attachments. Learn more and claim your free account.

View
 

Network Level

Overview • SecurityNetwork Level

 

 
Home
Dashboard
Workspaces
Users
Reports
Admin
Security
Network Level
Workspace Level
Folder Level
Page or File Level

 


 

The Network Level is the first security layer that a user must pass in order to gain access to any content inside your network.  Users to the network are added in a couple of different ways, depending on the kind of access needed and what you want them to be able to do on the network. 

 

Accessing Network Level Security

 

The Users tab for your network is where you can view what users have access to any content on the network.

 

 

By default, all users are shown, starting with users' with a last name starting with "A".  On the right hand side, there are filters which allow you to limit the users shown by checking and unchecking the appropriate boxes.  For example, to see only guests, uncheck the "Admins" and "Internal" boxes.

 

 

Adding Users

 

When viewing the users, click the "+New" menu and then click the "User" selection to add users to the network.

 

 

 

Users that are added as External can be promoted to a standard network user.  If the "External" designation is too restrictive for a user, then the PBworks Admin can promote their account to Standard User by following the instructions in the link below.

 

Promoting Users

 

About Users

There are three types of users on the network level.   These roles simply define what each user can do within the network.  See Workspace Level security for more information on controlling content contained within each workspace.

 

  1. PBworks Admin
  2. Internal User
  3. External User

 

PBworks Admin

If an account can access the Admin panel of a network, and add Internal Users to the network, then that account is a PBworks Admin.  PBworks Admins can oversee all content on a network and no information saved within a network can be hidden from them.  The PBworks Admins also have all the abilities of a regular internal user, with the ability to see all the workspaces and content regardless of Workspace Security.

 

Internal User

Internal users can create new workspaces on the network and invite other network users into those workspaces.  They can also invite External users into any workspace where they have Moderator permission.  Internal Users cannot see all workspaces in the network, they can only see workspaces they create and workspaces that are available to them through the Workspace Level security.

 

External User

External users cannot create new workspaces on the network, and have to be manually added, by email address, to each workspace they need access to.  Even if a workspace's security setting, at the Workspace Level, says that any internal user can join, that workspace will not be available to any  External User unless they are added to the workspace.


 

Going Deeper

These roles do not reflect the permission the users have when it comes to accessing content inside of workspaces.  Network roles only define what the user can do inside of the network, and what they are able to access. Security for workspace content is done only on the Workspace Level.