docs / Describe Your Changes
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Finally, you can manage your Google Docs, uploads, and email attachments (plus Dropbox and Slack files) in one convenient place. Claim a free account, and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio (from the makers of PBworks) can automatically organize your content for you.

View
 

Describe Your Changes

OverviewWorkspacesPagesPBworks Editor  Describe Your Changes

 

The PBworks editor has functionality to let editors describe the changes that are being made to a page.  These descriptions are short summaries that appear in the page history (one description per revision).  These descriptions can only be left at the time of the revision, and they allow the editor of the page to let the audience know what was changed on the page.  Now, with just a quick glance at the page history, you can see when a specific change was made.

 

 

Leaving a comment

 

Leaving a description on what you are revising is done by clicking the "Describe your changes" link in the lower right corner of the page while in edit mode.  You can only leave a comment on a revision while you are creating that new revision, so this is only available while in edit mode.  If you don't see the "Save" button, then you are not in edit mode.




In the form that accepts your description, you will see that the input is limited (just like regular comments) to 2000 characters.  Additionally, the comment is saved when you save the page, so there is no way to set the comment without saving the page.  You must click Save in order for the comment on the revision to be saved.  You can also click the "Hide this" link to hide the comment form while in edit mode.

 

 

 

Limitations

 

All comments in the PBworks system are limited to 2000 characters.  This is a hard limit in our system, and cannot be expanded for any one particular network or workspace.  Additionally, you can only leave a comment at the time of the revision.  If you don't leave a comment before saving the page, then no comment will be set.  There is no method for any user to change or modify comments (just as there's no method to change a revision made in the past, or a time-stamp of a revision or comment, etc.).